#2 The Origins of Nobel Prize


What is the Nobel Prize anyway? and why is there so much noise around it? To understand the Nobel Prize, we have to go back to its creator. Below are the essential elements:

  1. Nobel Prizes are awarded in five distinct fields namely Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Litterature, and Peace.
  2. It is, in fact, the last will of the Chemist and poet Alfred Nobel.
  3. Alfred Nobel is the man who invented “Dynamite” and made a fortune out of it.
  4.  His invention was both used for destruction during wars and for construction purposes.
  5. Alfred Nobel did not marry, he was known to be very passionate about science and literature.
  6. The largest share of his fortune is dedicated to a series of prizes we now refer to as the Nobel Prizes.
  7. Nobel Prizes can only be awarded to a living person.
  8. Each Nobel Laureate’s prize consists of a medal, a personal diploma, and a cash award.
  9. The word “Laureate” is actually derived from “laurel wreath” which has Greek origin to it.
  10.  The “Laurel wreath” is a symbol of victory and honor. It is a circular wreath made of interlocking branches and leaves of the bay laurel

The Nobel Prize Laureates to be awarded for the year 2017, will be announced in October (in a few weeks really). Now that you know the origins, I hope you can appreciate the event a bit more. “To peace, literature, and science!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.